Don’t be scared of my bathroom.

IMG_2893Wow, that last post was a long one…But just let me clarify that I do NOT have this whole ‘clean eating’ thing totally down yet!  I am doing *pretty* good, but still learning as I go.  I just know I feel waaay better now that I am more consistently eating regular meals of real food and trying to do juicing, as opposed to when I used to just grab a handful of crackers (ok, cookies) and guzzle way too much coffee…and I think maybe my immune system is getting stronger?  I feel like a cold is trying to come on (I’ve had a croup-y little 8yr old home the past couple days, coughing all over me), but my body seems to be wanting to fight it off.  Apparently with green juice…?

Anyway.  Back to biz…

In December, I was totally overdosing on reading natural living blogs, trying to learn about skincare.  The whole ‘whatever you put on your skin seeps into your bloodstream’ thing was starting to freak me out.  (Mainly because the word ‘bloodstream’ – Ew!)  Last year I already switched out most of my makeup (that I hardly ever wear…sorry Seattle!), but it’s been hard finding skincare products that I actually LIKE that are natural and that i can afford.

Then I thought, ‘Hey, I can MAKE skincare products!’ So I got sooo excited and found a bunch of Pinterest recipes and started ordering ingredients like beeswax and shea butter off Amazon Prime and Mountain Rose Herbs. I was all set to go…until I actually literally started making stuff.  And that’s when I realized…I HATED it!  Making/creating skincare products was a COMPLETELY joy-less process for me…which I totally did NOT expect!  Especially since I do already make a few household cleaners, and that’s not a big deal, and I make up (food) recipes from scratch like, every day.

But I think I just really, really missed all the pretty packaging, the yummy smells, and the fun of just trying out different skincare products.  I did make a decent lotion and a couple things that were, fine, I guess, but I kept finding myself wandering the beauty aisles of Whole Foods.  I DO like handmade natural products…just made by someone else.

We just signed up for a new service called Thrive Market (it’s kind of like an online Costco for healthy products, and the prices are seriously great, with free shipping on orders over $50), so I hunted around on there for a few things, as well as other places.  So here’s a few (NON homemade!) natural products we’re trying out. (Maybe not 100% natural, but close enough that I feel ok about them.)

I’m trying this lotion:

IMG_2904

It’s no Wild Carrots lotion (which is my FAVORITE lotion ever!), and I’m kind of kicking myself for not just getting that one, but I do like the Acure brand, and this was cheaper and on Thrive.

Oooh, something I DO love that I’ve been using for awhile now are Pacifica natural perfumes.  They smell AMAZING!

IMG_2919

These are the most true-to-scent perfumes I’ve ever smelled that are actually affordable.  I’m trying to make the French Lilac  my signature scent (whatever that means), but the Island Vanilla is sooo good too. And I have never gotten a headache from these, unlike other ones I used to wear.

These Ora’s Amazing Herbal chapsticks I ordered off Amazon are just plain cute:

IMG_2920

They honestly had me at the packaging – they come in a 3-pack in a little cloth bag, and the other flavor (somewhere in my purse) is Earl Grey.  Yes please!

We are also really liking this soap/body wash from EO Products:

IMG_2875

I like that the boys can use it for shampoo, and the coconut/lemon one smells SO good.  Which I know shouldn’t matter…but it matters so.very.much. to me.  I think taking a shower is my happy place?  I mean, if I can’t write my daily affirmation in steam on the shower door at 6:30am, my day is pretty much ruined.  I wish I was joking when I wrote that…

There *is* one lone product I made that I will actually make again.  it’s…wait for it…homemade DEODORANT.  I know.  I made this on a whim, since I have NEVER found a natural deodorant that actually works.  But after reading how sensitive our lymph system is, I just don’t feel comfortable with regular deodorant anymore (which is why I rarely ever wore it).  When I tried this recipe, I didn’t expect anything, really.  But it WORKS!  And there’s no baking soda in it, which can irritate your skin sometimes.  Of course, all the ingredients were things I ALREADY had around the house…thank goodness for return policies…

img_2898

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/4 cup coconut oil

20 drops Tea Tree oil

10 drops (combo of) Lemon, Orange, and Peppermint essential oils

Melt the coconut oil and mix with the cornstarch to form a paste.  Stir in the essential and Tea Tree oils.  You can set it in the fridge for a few minutes if it seems too liquid-y.  I put it in a cute little glass jar, and just keep it on my bathroom counter.  I made mine about a month ago, and it’s still totally fine.  And I smell good…promise…

img_2900

 
Leave a Reply

