look for the condensed magic in the stars

even though i was never a true pasta girl, i’ve always been a fan of ravioli. so when i found this recipe, i had to try it. and now i can’t stop making it! but it’s so cheap and easy, and everyone likes it. (well, except sky, since he doesn’t like ravioli. which is kind of a blessing in disguise, because then i don’t have to buy a gluten-free version.)

anywho, it’s just a simple brown butter and balsamic ravioli, and i usually serve it up with peas and grilled chicken. it’s really good. i’ve also used other pasta besides ravioli (like a tortellini), and that works, too. try it!

brown butter and balsamic ravioli
(i originally found the recipe at this site, but have seen it other places, too. this is just my personal take on it.)

ravioli
(i usually use 2 packages of four-cheese ravioli from trader joe’s, which are just a couple bucks each. this feeds 3 adults and sharkey, who eats like an adult.)
6 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 handfuls grated parmesan cheese
salt and pepper
package of frozen peas
2 chicken breasts
(i pound them flat, then season and grill. if i slice it up, it will serve 3 adults and 2 kiddos.)
fresh sage leaves (optional)

1. cook the ravioli according to the package.

2. in a big frying pan, brown the butter and add the cooked ravioli. (you may have to do this in batches.) after the ravioli is browned, add in the balsamic vinegar and thawed peas, and stir till coated. top with the parmesan cheese and salt and pepper to taste.

3. if you want, you can also throw some sage leaves in the pan and fry them up, too. they are yummy sprinkled on top.

6 thoughts on “look for the condensed magic in the stars

  1. I am going to try this. You are right – the other night I bbq'd chicken breast and typically 3 is not enough for all of us (Tori eats like a bird). So, I cut it up before serving and there was some left. Why? I have no idea – I guess cut up looks like more.

    Like

  2. So true about cutting up meat first!
    I've never tried gf ravioli because I didn't have a good recipe to make it worth it. I think you just gave me one! I love balsamic anything. I'm going to try this soon. Thanks!

    Like

  3. I am trying to stay awake while Josh's friends are outside playing : ) did you know I don't have your email address? sometimes I just want to email you but commenting on your blog is fun too!

    I just had to tell Mary Beth I had the best Turkey burger last night.

    homemade buns (this might be key)
    avocado
    mayo
    lettuce
    turkey burger

    I don't know – I thought is was sooooo good that I actually ate 1 and 1/2.

    Like

Leave a Reply

